Eragrostis rigidiuscula

Eragrostis rigidiuscula
Domin. Biblioth. Bot .85: 393 (1915).

(GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Chloridoideae. Cynodonteae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Nord-Australien: Port Darwin, F. Schultz 802.

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of

Perennial. Culms erect, 55–100 cm tall. Leaves cauline. Leaf-sheaths glabrous
on surface. Ligule a fringe of hairs, 0.2–0.5 mm long. Leaf-blades curled, flat
or involute, 20–30 cm long, 1–5 mm wide. Leaf-blade surface glabrous.

Inflorescence compound, a panicle. Panicle lanceolate or ovate, 6–36 cm long.

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets many flowered, with at least 2 fertile
florets (5–23), comprising 5–23 fertile floret(s), with diminished florets at
the apex, linear or lanceolate or oblong, laterally compressed, 4–10.5 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar. Lower glume lanceolate, membranous, keeled, 1-keeled, 1 -nerved. Upper
glume lanceolate, 1.3–3 mm long, membranous, keeled, 1-keeled, 1 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 1.5–2 mm long, keeled, 3 -nerved. Lemma apex muticous. Lodicules
present. Anthers 3.

: Australasia.

: Western Australia, Northern Territory, Queensland.

: Gardner.
Northern Territory:
Darwin & Gulf. Queensland:

Distinguishing characters include stiffly spreading, open scabrous panicle;
leaf sheaths often longer than internodes, tight on culms, with long-bearded
orifice and hairy margins and collar; blades long, often flat, gradually
tapered to a capillary apex, curly at maturity; spikelets strongly compressed,
with stout strongly flexuose rachilla cupular at apex of internodes; lemma
partly scaberulous.

occurs near Kalumburu and on Augustus Island in the Bonaparte Archipelago in N
W.A.; between Darwin and Pine Ck and into Arhnem Land in N.T. and near Laura in
N Qld. Sandy or podsolic soils with quartzite or laterite; on tablelands, clay
soil flats, lagoon and creek banks, in depressions and on roadsides.; flowers
Jan.-May.; fruits Jan.-May.

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith