Enneapogon truncatus

Enneapogon truncatus E.K.Z. Kakudidi. Aust.
Syst. Bot.
1: 350 (1988).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily
Chloridoideae. Pappophoreae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Australia, Emerald: Hubbard 7930 (CANB holo,
BRI, K).

Recent synonyms:
E. flavescens auct.

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
, [2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Walley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses
of New South Wales

[2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Whalley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses of New South
, 4th edn (242).

Perennial. Culms 30–50 cm tall. Lateral branches sparsely branched. Ligule a
fringe of hairs. Leaf-blades involute or convolute, 6–24 cm long, 2–3 mm wide.
Leaf-blade surface scabrous, glabrous.

Inflorescence solid, a panicle. Panicle linear or pyramidal, 4–7(–10) cm long,
0.8–1(–3) cm wide.

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets 1 or more flowered, with 1 fertile
floret, comprising 1 fertile floret(s), with diminished florets at the apex,
oblong, laterally compressed, 2.8–6.4 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar, thinner than fertile lemma. Lower glume lanceolate or ovate,
membranous, without keels, 5–7 -nerved. Lower glume surface indumented. Lower
glume apex muticous or mucronate. Upper glume elliptic, 2.8–6.4 mm long,
membranous, without keels, 5–7 -nerved. Upper glume surface indumented.

Fertile lemma 1.8–2.8 mm long, without keel, 9–11 -nerved. Lemma surface
indumented. Lemma apex dentate or lobed, awned, 9 -awned. Median (principal)
awn 2.3–6.4 mm long overall. Lateral lemma awns present. Palea apex with
excurrent keel nerves or awned. Lodicules present. Anthers 3. Grain 1.1–1.8 mm

: Australasia.

: Queensland, New South Wales.

Burke, Burnett, Cook, Darling Downs, Leichhardt, Maranoa, Mitchell, North
Kennedy, Port Curtis, South Kennedy, Warrego. New South Wales:
North-Western Slopes, Central-Western Slopes, North-Western Plains.

Close to E. nigricans but distinguished by its corrugated, strongly
ribbed lemma.    SE
Qld and NE N.S.W.


AVH 2011


Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith