Digitaria lanceolata

Digitaria lanceolata R.D. Webster. Brunonia 6: 187 (1983).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Panicoideae. Paniceae.

Type of Basionym or Protologue Information: Australia: Queensland: Leichardt District: 20 Feb 1979, Anderson 749 (HT: BRI).

Key references (books and floras): [2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of Australia.

Habit. Perennial. Rhizomes present. Stolons absent. Culms erect, 30–40 cm tall, 3–6 -noded. Mid-culm internodes glabrous. Mid-culm nodes glabrous. Lateral branches simple. Leaf-sheath auricles absent. Ligule an eciliate membrane, 1.8–2.4 mm long. Leaf-blades flat, 9–20 cm long, 2.2–3.4 mm wide. Leaf-blade surface scabrous, glabrous.

Inflorescence. Inflorescence subdigitate, with racemose branches. Racemes 12–20 cm long. Central inflorescence axis 4–8 cm long.

Spikelets. Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets 2-flowered, the lower floret barren (rarely male), the upper fertile, comprising 1 basal sterile florets, comprising 1 fertile floret(s), without rachilla extension, lanceolate, dorsally compressed, 2.4–2.8 mm long. Rhachilla internodes brief up to lowest fertile floret.

Glumes. Glumes thinner than fertile lemma. Lower glume ovate. Upper glume elliptic, 2.2–2.4 mm long, membranous, without keels, 3 -nerved. Upper glume surface indumented. Florets. Basal sterile florets 1, barren, without significant palea. Lemma of lower sterile floret 100 % of length of spikelet, membranous, 7 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 2.1–2.4 mm long, without keel. Lemma apex muticous or mucronate. Lodicules present. Anthers 3.

Continental Distribution: Australasia.

Australian Distribution: Queensland.

Queensland: Leichhardt.

Notes. This species is known only from one collection, however spikelet shape and relative sizes of the spikelet parts make it readily distinguishable from closely related taxa.

In Brigalow forests. Flowers Feb.

Herbrecs 2011

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith