Amphibromus vickeryae

Amphibromus vickeryae S.W.L.Jacobs &
Lapinpuro. Telopea 2: 725 (1986).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Pooideae.
Tribe Poeae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Australia: Western Australia: Darling: Beechboro, 3
mi [5 km] N of Guildford, Dec 1901, Fitzgerald s.n. (NSW-117393).

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
, [2009] A.Wilson (ed.). Flora of Australia, Vol 44A. Poaceae
2 (134).

[2009]. A.Wilson (ed.), Flora of Australia 44A: Poaceae 2 (135,

Derivation: in
honor of Joyce Winifred Vickery (1908–1979) Australian botanist.

Perennial. Culms erect, 50–100 cm tall, 1–3 mm diam., 4–5 -noded. Mid-culm
nodes glabrous. Leaf-sheaths smooth or scaberulous. Ligule an eciliate
membrane, 9–12 mm long, acute. Leaf-blades 15–35 cm long, 3–4 mm wide. Leaf-blade
surface scabrous, glabrous.

Inflorescence compound, a panicle. Panicle 7–15 cm long.

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets many flowered, with at least 2 fertile
florets (3–4), comprising 3–4 fertile floret(s), with a barren rachilla
extension or with diminished florets at the apex, oblong, laterally compressed,
8–11 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar, thinner than fertile lemma. Lower glume lanceolate, membranous,
keeled, 1-keeled, 3 -nerved. Upper glume lanceolate, 3.6–4 mm long, membranous,
keeled, 1-keeled, 5 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 5–5.5 mm long, without keel, 7 -nerved. Lemma apex dentate,
awned, 1–5 -awned. Median (principal) awn dorsal, 10–12 mm long overall, with a
twisted column. Column 4–5 mm long. Lateral lemma awns present. Lodicules
present. Anthers 3. Grain 1.9 mm long.

: Australasia.

: Western Australia.

Western Australia:

Close to A. nervosus, differing in the more robust habit, larger lemmas,
the short bristle produced at the end of each lemma lobe, and the more
uniformly, finely hispid lemma back.

Wet areas of coastal districts in the Darling region of W.A.

AVH 2011

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith