Agrostis thompsoniae

Agrostis thompsoniae S.W.L.Jacobs. Telopea

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Pooideae.
Tribe Poeae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: New South Wales: Southern Tablelands: Creek
southwest of Hedkey Tarn, Kosciuszko [as Kosciusko] National Park, in gravel on
wet creek flat with Luzula, 6 Feb 1978, J. Thompson 2889 (HT:

Recent synonyms:
sp.A; sp."B" of Jacobs & Hastings.

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
, [2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Walley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses
of New South Wales
(111), [2009] A.Wilson (ed.). Flora of Australia,
Vol 44A. Poaceae 2 (171).

[2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Whalley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses of New South
, 4th edn (111).

Derivation: In
honour of Joy Thompson, Australian botanist.

Habit. Annual
or perennial. Rhizomes absent or present, short. Stolons absent or present. Culms
erect or geniculately ascending, stature slender to delicate, 50 cm tall, 2
-noded. Leaves mostly basal. Ligule an eciliate membrane, 5 mm long, lacerate,
obtuse. Leaf-blades flat, 13 cm long, 2.5 mm wide.

Inflorescence compound, a panicle. Panicle 12 cm long.

Fertile spikelets 1-flowered, comprising 1 fertile floret(s), laterally
compressed, 1.5–2.5 mm long.

Glumes. Upper
glume 1.5–2.25 mm long.

Fertile lemma 1.3–1.8 mm long. Lemma apex muticous. Palea absent. Anthers 3.

: Australasia.

: New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania.

New South Wales:
Southern Tablelands. Tasmania: Central Highlands, Ben Lomond.

This is the taxon described by Morris (1991) as A. sp. aff. parviflora,
and by Jacobs & Hastings (1993) as A. sp. B. It resembles A.
Named after Joy Thompson, botanist at the NSW National

Endemic. Central Highlands and
Ben Lomond in Tas., S from Kosciusko in N.S.W. and Vic. Grows in depressions, sod
tussock grasslands, and in fens, bogs and wet areas in alpine herbfields, and
at the margins of rainforests. Flowers summer.


AVH 2011


Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith