Saccharum officinarum*

Saccharum officinarum* L. Sp. Pl. 54

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily
Panicoideae. Andropogoneae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: LT: Sloane, Voy. Jamaica 1: pl. 66 (1707) LT
designated by Reveal et al., Taxon 38: 98 (1989).

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
, [2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Walley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses
of New South Wales

[2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Whalley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses of New South
, 4th edn (363).

Perennial. Culms erect, stature robust to moderate, 200–600 cm tall. Mid-culm
internodes solid, pruinose (below nodes). Ligule a fringed membrane, a
ciliolate membrane. Leaf-blades linear or lanceolate, 70–150 cm long, 30–60 mm
wide. Leaf-blade surface scaberulous.

Inflorescence compound, a panicle of rames. Panicle pyramidal, dense, 50–100 cm
long. Rhachis fragile at the nodes.

Spikelets sessile and pedicelled, 2 in the cluster. Fertile spikelets
2-flowered, the lower floret barren (rarely male), the upper fertile,
comprising 1 basal sterile florets, comprising 1 fertile floret(s), without
rachilla extension, lanceolate, dorsally compressed, 3.5–4 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar, firmer than fertile lemma. Lower glume lanceolate, membranous, much
thinner above, keeled, 2-keeled, 2–4 -nerved. Upper glume lanceolate,
membranous, without keels, 1–3 -nerved. Florets. Basal sterile florets
1, barren, without significant palea. Lemma of lower sterile floret 100 % of
length of spikelet, hyaline, 0 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 3.5–5 mm
long, 0 -nerved. Palea absent. Lodicules present. Anthers 3. Grain 1.5 mm long.

: Europe, Africa, Temperate Asia, Tropical Asia, Australasia,
Pacific, North America, and South America.

: Northern Territory, Queensland, New South Wales, Christmas

Cook, South Kennedy, Moreton.

Notes. Adjacent
to sugar cane cultivation but does nor persist.

AVH 2011


Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith