Pogonatherum crinitum

Pogonatherum crinitum (Thunb.) Kunth. Enum.
1: 478 (1833).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily
Panicoideae. Andropogoneae.

Basionym and/or
Replacement Name:
Thunb., Fl. Jap. 40, pl. 7 (1784).

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Japan: no loc. given,.

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
, [2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Walley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses
of New South Wales
(355 as P. paniceum).

[2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Whalley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses of New South
, 4th edn (355 as P. paniceum).

Perennial. Culms prostrate, 10–50 cm tall, wiry. Mid-culm nodes pubescent.
Lateral branches branched or fastigiate. Ligule a fringed membrane, a ciliolate
membrane, 0.3 mm long. Leaf-blades 1–7 cm long, 1–3 mm wide.

Inflorescence solid, a rame. Rhachis fragile at the nodes.

Spikelets sessile and pedicelled, 2 in the cluster. Fertile spikelets
2-flowered, the lower floret barren (rarely male), the upper fertile, comprising
1 basal sterile florets, comprising 1 fertile floret(s), without rachilla
extension, elliptic, laterally compressed, 1.3–2.8 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
dissimilar, firmer than fertile lemma. Lower glume elliptic, cartilaginous or
coriaceous, without keels, 2 -nerved. Lower glume surface indumented. Upper
glume elliptic, 1 -nerved. Upper glume apex awned. Florets. Basal
sterile florets 1, barren, without significant palea. Lemma of lower sterile
floret 66 % of length of spikelet, hyaline, 0 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 1–2.3 mm
long, without keel, 1 -nerved. Lemma apex lobed, awned, 1 -awned. Median
(principal) awn from a sinus, 8–22 mm long overall. Palea absent. Lodicules
absent or vestigial. Anthers 1.

: Temperate Asia, Tropical Asia, Australasia, and Pacific.

: Queensland.

Cook, North Kennedy.

Notes. Growing
in damp rocky situations from northern coastal Qld through SE Asia to Sri
Lanka. Flowers Oct.--Nov.


AVH 2011

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith