Micraira multinervia

Micraira multinervia M. Lazarides. Nuytsia
5: 293 (1984).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Micrairoideae. Micraireae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Australia:
Northern Territory: Darwin & Gulf
District: top of Jim
Jim Falls,
13.17'S, 132.51'E; 29 Jan 1981, Dunlop 5634 (HT: CANB; IT: DNA).

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of

Perennial. Culms prostrate, 10–15 cm tall, 1 mm diam. Leaves cauline.
Leaf-sheaths smooth, glabrous on surface. Ligule a fringed membrane or a fringe
of hairs, a ciliate membrane, 0.2 mm long. Leaf-blades lanceolate, 0.9–1.25 cm
long, 1.3 mm wide. Leaf-blade surface scaberulous, glabrous.

Inflorescence compound, a panicle. Panicle oblong, loose, 1 cm long, 0.3–1 cm

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets 2-flowered, both fertile, comprising 2
fertile floret(s), without rachilla extension, oblong, laterally compressed,
0.5–1 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar, firmer than fertile lemma. Lower glume ovate, membranous or scarious,
keeled, 1-keeled, 1(–2) -nerved. Lower glume apex muticous or mucronate. Upper
glume ovate, 0.5–1 mm long, membranous or scarious, keeled, 1-keeled, 1(–2)
-nerved. Upper glume apex muticous or mucronate.

Fertile lemma 0.5–1 mm long, keeled, 5–7 -nerved. Palea 4–6 -nerved. Palea apex
divided to base. Lodicules absent or vestigial. Anthers 2. Grain 0.5–0.6 mm

: Australasia.

: Northern Territory.

Northern Territory: Darwin &

Micraira multinervia is the only species in the genus excluding M. subulifolia
with a many-nerved lemma and palea. In this feature and in the scaberulous to
smooth (not prickly) margins of the blades, it resembles M. subulifolia, but
differs by the apical spine on the blades, the divided palea and the subequal
florets and glumes.

Occurs in Kakadu National
Park, N.T.; grows in sand on rocky, sandstone
escarpment, slopes and pavements in crevices, shallow ephemeral water and moist
sites. Flowers-fruits January, May.

AVH 2011

Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith