Deyeuxia parviseta

Deyeuxia parviseta Vickery. Contr. New South
Wales Natl Herb.
1: 71 (1940).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Pooideae. Tribe Poeae.

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Australia,
Blue Mts., Blackheath: Vickery K29 (K
holo, NSW).

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
[2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Walley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses of New South
(204), [2009] A.Wilson (ed.). Flora of Australia, Vol 44A. Poaceae 2

Perennial. Mid-culm nodes glabrous. Leaf-sheaths scaberulous. Ligule an
eciliate membrane, 1–4 mm long, abaxially scaberulous, erose, truncate.
Leaf-blades 10–25 cm long, 2–4 mm wide. Leaf-blade surface scabrous.

Inflorescence compound, a panicle. Panicle 12–20 cm long.

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets 1-flowered, with a barren rachilla
extension, lanceolate, laterally compressed, 2.5 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar, firmer than fertile lemma. Lower glume lanceolate, membranous, much
thinner on margins, keeled, 1-keeled, 1 -nerved. Upper glume lanceolate,
membranous, 1-keeled, 1 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 2.5 mm long, without keel, 5 -nerved. Lemma apex awned, 1 -awned.
Median (principal) awn subapical, 0.5–1 mm long overall. Lodicules present.
Anthers 3.

: Australasia.

: Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria.

Port Curtis, Darling Downs, Moreton. New South Wales: North
Coast, Central
Coast, South Coast,
Northern Tablelands, Central Tablelands, Southern Tablelands. Victoria:
East Gippsland.

Endemic. In damp and
shady sclerophyll forest or rainforest. Flowers spring.

Infra-specific taxa: var. parviseta, var. boormani.

Glumes shorter than
the florets; lemma c. obscurely nerved; leaf blades adaxially scabrous      D. parviseta var. parviseta             

Glumes about equalling the florets; lemma prominently
nerved; leaf blades adaxially scabrous to pubescent      D. parviseta var. boormani

AVH 2011 


Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith