Cyrtococcum oxyphyllum

Cyrtococcum oxyphyllum (Steud.) Stapf. Hooker's
Icon. Pl.
31: t3096 (1922).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily
Micrairoideae. Isachneae.

Basionym and/or
Replacement Name:
Hochst. ex Steud., Syn. Pl. Glumac. 1: 65 (1854).

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: India,
Hrbr. Hohenack Ind. or. 627.

Key references
(books and floras):
[1969] E.E.Henty, Manual Grasses New Guinea
(57), [2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of Australia.

Habit. Annual.
Culms prostrate, 15–60 cm tall. Mid-culm nodes glabrous or pubescent. Ligule a
fringed membrane, a ciliolate membrane, 0.7–1.7 mm long. Leaf-blades lanceolate
or elliptic, 2–20 cm long, 5–15 mm wide. Leaf-blade surface glabrous or

Inflorescence compound, a panicle. Panicle lanceolate, 5–20 cm long.

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets 2-flowered, the lower floret barren
(rarely male), the upper fertile, comprising 1 basal sterile florets,
comprising 1 fertile floret(s), without rachilla extension, obovate, laterally
compressed, 1.25–2 mm long.

Glumes similar, thinner than fertile lemma. Lower glume ovate, membranous,
without keels, 3 -nerved. Lower glume surface glabrous. Upper glume oblong,
1.3–2 mm long, membranous, without keels, 3 -nerved. Upper glume surface
glabrous. Florets. Basal sterile florets 1, barren, without significant
palea. Lemma of lower sterile floret 100 % of length of spikelet, membranous, 5

Fertile lemma 1–1.7 mm
long, without keel, 5 -nerved. Palea 2 -nerved. Anthers 3.

: Africa, Temperate Asia, Tropical Asia, Australasia,
and Pacific.

: Queensland.

Queensland: Cook, North Kennedy.

Relatively short pedicels, long leaves and glabrous spikelets characterise this

Widespread in the
tropics of Asia, extending to Queensland.
In damp, shady, forest habitats. In tropical and subtropical rain forests, or
tropical and subtropical sub-humid woodlands. Flowers Apr.-Sept.

AVH 2011


Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith