Chionochloa frigida

Chionochloa frigida (Vickery) Conert. Senckenbergiana biol. 56:154 (1975).

Classification. (GPWG 2001) : Subfamily Danthonioideae. Tribe

Basionym and/or
Replacement Name:
Vickery, Contr. New South Wales Natl. Herb. 1(5): 298

Type of Basionym or
Protologue Information
: Australia, Vickery s.n. (HT: NSW-1097).

Key references
(books and floras):
[2002] D.Sharp & B.K.Simon, AusGrass, Grasses of
, [2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Walley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses
of New South Wales

[2005] K.Mallet (ed.), Flora of Australia 44B: Poaceae 3 (Fig. 3,
I-K), [2008] S.W.L.Jacobs, R.D.B.Whalley & D.J.B.Wheeler, Grasses of New
South Wales
, 4th edn (182).

Perennial. Culms erect, 60–120 cm tall. Mid-culm nodes glabrous. Leaves mostly
basal. Ligule a fringe of hairs, 0.5–1.5 mm long. Leaf-blades involute, 30–60
cm long, 4–6 mm wide. Leaf-blade surface glabrous.

Inflorescence solid, a panicle. Panicle lanceolate, 8–12 cm long.

Spikelets pedicelled. Fertile spikelets many flowered, with at least 2 fertile
florets, comprising 4–8 fertile floret(s), with diminished florets at the apex,
oblong, laterally compressed, 9–17 mm long.

Glumes. Glumes
similar, similar to fertile lemma in texture. Lower glume lanceolate,
membranous, without keels, 1 -nerved. Upper glume lanceolate, 8–15 mm long,
membranous, without keels, 3–5 -nerved.

Fertile lemma 5.5–12 mm long, without keel, 7 -nerved. Lemma surface
indumented. Lemma apex lobed, awned, 3 -awned. Median (principal) awn from a
sinus, 8–15 mm long overall, with a straight or slightly twisted column.
Lateral lemma awns present. Lodicules present. Grain 3.5 mm long.

: Australasia.

: New South Wales.

New South Wales:
Southern Tablelands.

Mt Kosciusko endemic, altitude 1700–2000 m, alpine and subalpine meadows, bogs,
rocky slopes and heathlands, forming distinctive communities, flowering only
rarely. Flowers Dec. to Feb.


AVH 2011 


Scratchpads developed and conceived by (alphabetical): Ed Baker, Katherine Bouton Alice Heaton Dimitris Koureas, Laurence Livermore, Dave Roberts, Simon Rycroft, Ben Scott, Vince Smith